Thursday, 29 January 2015

New Navigation Committee members

The Navigation Committee will be welcoming eight members following a comprehensive selection process.

A total of thirteen candidates were interviewed by a panel chaired by John Edmonds, former Chairman of the Inland Waterways Advisory Council and including Authority Chairman Stephen Johnson, Richard Card, Chairman of the Norfolk and Suffolk Boating Association (NSBA) and Alan Morgan representing the British Marine Federation (BMF).

The following candidates were recommended for appointment.

Under category A (after consultation with bodies representing the owners of pleasure craft available for hire or reward): James Knight (nominated by the BHBF and BMF) and Michael Whitaker (nominated by the BHBF and BMF)

Category B (after consultation with bodies representing nationally the owners of private pleasure craft: Nicky Talbot (nominated by the NSBA and Royal Yachting Association)

Category C (after consultation with bodies representing the owners of private pleasure craft which use any part of the Broads: Brian Wilkins (nominated by the NSBA and RYA)

Category D (after consultation with bodies representing persons who are likely to be required to pay ship, passenger or goods dues): Linda Aspland and William Dickson.

Category E (after consultation with bodies representing other users of the navigation area): Max Heron (nominated by British Rowing and the Eastern Region Rowing Council)

Group F (after consultation with the Great Yarmouth Port Authority): Alan Goodchild

The views of both the Navigation Committee and consultee interest groups will be sought on these recommendations before the Broads Authority makes the final decision at its meeting on 20 March 2015.

No comments:

Post a Comment